LANSING, MI (WTVB) - Raise Michigan, the group behind the petition drive to hike the minimum wage to $10.10 an hour says it’s not giving up their effort to put their higher minimum wage on the fall ballot. Michigan law states that once a petition drive is certified, the legislature has 40-days to either adopt the law, or put it on the ballot. Mark Brewer, the attorney for the coalition tells WILX-TV that the legislature can put their own competing proposal on the ballot, but they can’t use that proposal to derail citizen rights to petition the government.
Senate Leader Randy Richardville called it a “Repeal and Replace” bill that the Governor signed this week, believing it changes the law the petition drive intended to amend, nullifying the initiative. It may be up to a judge to decide. Coalition officials say they are obligated to the signers to see the process through to the end.