On Air Now

Upcoming Shows

Program Schedule »


Listen Live Now » 590 AM Kalamazoo, MI


Current Conditions(Kalamazoo,MI 49001)

More Weather »
55° Feels Like: 55°
Wind: NW 14 mph Past 24 hrs - Precip: 0”
Current Radar for Zip


Partly Cloudy 41°


Sunny 64°

Tues Night

Clear 45°


B1G announces postseason awards, Trey Burke named Player of the Year


(WQLR) – In an announcement that surprised no one really, maybe a few in Bloomington, Trey Burke was named Big Ten Player of the Year beating out Indiana’s Victor Oladipo. The Wolverines sophomore point guard was awarded the top player by the both the coaches and the media after averaging 20.1 points and 6.4 assists in conference play. Oladipo was named Defensive Player of the Year.

Along with Burke, Oladipo, Hoosier teammate Cody Zeller and OSU’s Deshaun Thomas were consensuses First Team All-Big Ten members, while Michigan’s Tim Hardaway Jr. was voted first team by the coaches and OSU’s Aaron Craft was voted first team by the media.

MSU was well represented on both second teams, with Keith Appling (3rd team media), Gary Harris and Adreian Payne receiving nods.  Harris was also named freshman of the year beating out Glenn Robinson III, and Yogi Ferrell.

Wolverine forward/center Jordan Morgan was named to the All-Defensive team despite missing a handful of games during the season.  

Wisconsin head coach Bo Ryan was named Coach of the Year.