On Air Now

Upcoming Shows

Program Schedule »


Listen Live Now » 590 AM Kalamazoo, MI


Current Conditions(Kalamazoo,MI 49001)

More Weather »
60° Feels Like: 60°
Wind: NNW 20 mph Past 24 hrs - Precip: 0.05”
Current Radar for Zip


Scattered Thunderstorms 61°


Partly Cloudy 41°


Sunny 64°


Otsego Women Top Plainwell to Claim District Crown

Plainwell Head Coach Tim Rie... (Download MP3)
Otsego Head Coach Tony Koshar (Download MP3)

A Paige Koshar basket with 20 seconds to play on Fridaynight helped Otsego to a 36-34 District Final win over Plainwell at the Plainwell gymnasium.  Friday night capped off a night and a season of comebacks for the Otsego Women’s basketball team.  They trailed for much of their district final game, but mounted a major comeback to beat their rivals.  It was also a comeback for the season ofsorts as Plainwell had given the Bulldogs two of their three losses this season. 

Plainwell lead for the very large majority of the game.  Koshar’s basket gave the Bulldogs their firstlead of the game.   Senior Teresa Thiel hit three first have three pointers and that helped the Trojans good first half in which they led by as many as 14.  Otsego ended the first half on a great note and cut the deficit to only 21-16 at the halftime break.

Plainwell started the second half strong as well, jumping out 6-1 and reclaimed a double digit lead shortly into the second half.  Much like the first half though, the Bulldogs would respond.  Trailing by six going into the fourth Otsego would cut the lead all the way down to 2 with under 3:00 to play, and then would get within a point with under a minute to play.  That set the scene for Koshar who drove to the basket and hit a six foot hook shot.

Terresa Thiel and Sarah Morrell for Plainwell led all scorers on the night both scoring ten points.  Noplayer for Otsego was able to get into double-digits in the scoring column.  Koshar led the Bulldogs with eight points and Sophie Wieber had seven. 

Otsego will move onto the regional in Coloma where they will face the winner of Harper Creek and Marshall.