On Air Now

Upcoming Shows

Program Schedule »


Listen Live Now » 590 AM Kalamazoo, MI


Current Conditions(Kalamazoo,MI 49001)

More Weather »
43° Feels Like: 43°
Wind: W 0 mph Past 24 hrs - Precip: 0”
Current Radar for Zip


AM Fog/PM Sun 66°


Clear 42°


Mostly Sunny 67°

The Big Ten will operate differently when it includes 14 schools


UNDATED (WKZO) -- ESPN is reporting that the Big Ten Conference will be realigning when Rutgers and Maryland join in 2014, and doing away with the Legends and Leaders names for its divisions, which never quite caught the imagination of the public. The two divisions will simply be called the East and West divisions, and are obviously based on geography.

The Big Ten West will include Purdue and the six teams located in the Central time zone -- Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Nebraska, Northwestern and Wisconsin.

The Big Ten East will include Indiana, Maryland, Michigan, Michigan State, Ohio State, Penn State and Rutgers.

Indiana and Purdue will be the only protected game between teams from the East and West.

ESPN says the presidents and chancellors at the Universities have yet to vote, but are expected to approve the change and move to a nine-game football conference schedule starting in 2016.